actual howto?

cnc-club.ru for English speaking users
tecdroid
Новичок
Сообщения: 25
Зарегистрирован: 18 июн 2014, 13:35
Репутация: 1
Контактная информация:

actual howto?

Сообщение tecdroid »

Hello,

i downloaded gcodetools from git today.. I really love the idea of creating gcode directly from inkscape.
Sadly, the manual i've found here doesn't describe what i see. Extensions->gcodetools doesn't show a dialog but several sub menues. I managed to create a tool but could not configure anything then and was also unable to create any cnc path or gcode...

is there some newer manual in english?
Аватара пользователя
Nick
Мастер
Сообщения: 22617
Зарегистрирован: 23 ноя 2009, 16:45
Репутация: 1630
Заслуга: Developer
Откуда: Gatchina, Saint-Petersburg distr., Russia
Контактная информация:

Re: actual howto?

Сообщение Nick »

First of all, have you created inx files using create_inx.py?
If yes - you should have submenu Gcodetools in Extensions menu.
Then you can open Extensions-Gcodetools-Path to Gcode.
Then
1. Open preferences
2. Enter valid path into Output directory in which Gcode will be stored
3. Open Path-to-Gcode tab
4. Press apply.

A new default Tool and Orientation points will be created (you can change them afterwards right in place) and of coarse you should get your Gcode.

There are several videos on how to work with Gcodetools:
http://www.youtube.com/results?search_query=gcodetools
One of the best in English from Matthew Smith: http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=zMQplyEo ... B2E6FEBA2A

Wow there are some new videos http://www.youtube.com/playlist?list=PL ... y9jfI9E7Px
tecdroid
Новичок
Сообщения: 25
Зарегистрирован: 18 июн 2014, 13:35
Репутация: 1
Контактная информация:

Re: actual howto?

Сообщение tecdroid »

Well, this worked, thank you.
BUT where do i define my tool? Think I need at least a diameter?

can't see the videos now but i'll try this evening..
Аватара пользователя
Nick
Мастер
Сообщения: 22617
Зарегистрирован: 23 ноя 2009, 16:45
Репутация: 1630
Заслуга: Developer
Откуда: Gatchina, Saint-Petersburg distr., Russia
Контактная информация:

Re: actual howto?

Сообщение Nick »

tecdroid писал(а):where do i define my tool? Think I need at least a diameter?
After you apply Path To Gcode, a default tool will be added you can copy/modify it afterwards.
In fact diameter does not interfere Path to gcode it's only needed for pocketing operations...
tecdroid
Новичок
Сообщения: 25
Зарегистрирован: 18 июн 2014, 13:35
Репутация: 1
Контактная информация:

Re: actual howto?

Сообщение tecdroid »

Nick писал(а):After you apply Path To Gcode, a default tool will be added you can copy/modify it afterwards.
where and how do i ?
Аватара пользователя
Nick
Мастер
Сообщения: 22617
Зарегистрирован: 23 ноя 2009, 16:45
Репутация: 1630
Заслуга: Developer
Откуда: Gatchina, Saint-Petersburg distr., Russia
Контактная информация:

Re: actual howto?

Сообщение Nick »

If you will do what I have written, you will get something like this:
You can Edit parameters using Text tool (F8).
Вложения
Снимок-38.png
tecdroid
Новичок
Сообщения: 25
Зарегистрирован: 18 июн 2014, 13:35
Репутация: 1
Контактная информация:

Re: actual howto?

Сообщение tecdroid »

Seems, my practise gear stl was broken... using a new file worked.
are those numbers in mm?
Аватара пользователя
Nick
Мастер
Сообщения: 22617
Зарегистрирован: 23 ноя 2009, 16:45
Репутация: 1630
Заслуга: Developer
Откуда: Gatchina, Saint-Petersburg distr., Russia
Контактная информация:

Re: actual howto?

Сообщение Nick »

in "units" :)

What units do you prefer? mm, inches, px?
They can be defined by Orientation points...
tecdroid
Новичок
Сообщения: 25
Зарегистрирован: 18 июн 2014, 13:35
Репутация: 1
Контактная информация:

Re: actual howto?

Сообщение tecdroid »

well, I realize that I really have to learn much..
I'm new to that topic..
Аватара пользователя
Nick
Мастер
Сообщения: 22617
Зарегистрирован: 23 ноя 2009, 16:45
Репутация: 1630
Заслуга: Developer
Откуда: Gatchina, Saint-Petersburg distr., Russia
Контактная информация:

Re: actual howto?

Сообщение Nick »

That will be easy, just give a try ;)
tecdroid
Новичок
Сообщения: 25
Зарегистрирован: 18 июн 2014, 13:35
Репутация: 1
Контактная информация:

Re: actual howto?

Сообщение tecdroid »

hope so.. it cost me much time to convince my wife to buy that machine... ;)
but I'm still a bit confused by tool diameter.
let's say, I have a circle of 10mm diameter and my tool is 1.2mm in diameter. Without changing this in G-Code, I'd get a 8.8mm circle instead of 10mm ? with a 3mm-Tool it would be 7mm.. ?
Аватара пользователя
Nick
Мастер
Сообщения: 22617
Зарегистрирован: 23 ноя 2009, 16:45
Репутация: 1630
Заслуга: Developer
Откуда: Gatchina, Saint-Petersburg distr., Russia
Контактная информация:

Re: actual howto?

Сообщение Nick »

yep...
there are several ways:
1. make offset of the path in inkscape
2. use tool diameter compensation inside your Machine Controlling Software.
tecdroid
Новичок
Сообщения: 25
Зарегистрирован: 18 июн 2014, 13:35
Репутация: 1
Контактная информация:

Re: actual howto?

Сообщение tecdroid »

first one sounds easier since my control software doesn't know what's inside and outside my object..
So I'll have to design anything a bit bigger?
Аватара пользователя
Nick
Мастер
Сообщения: 22617
Зарегистрирован: 23 ноя 2009, 16:45
Репутация: 1630
Заслуга: Developer
Откуда: Gatchina, Saint-Petersburg distr., Russia
Контактная информация:

Re: actual howto?

Сообщение Nick »

You can offset the path using inkscape Offset.
Path - Dynamic offset. And move contorl point or edit xml (Ctrl+Shift+X - and threre edit offset radius (it is in pixels)).
tecdroid писал(а):my control software doesn't know what's inside and outside my object..
There are to Gcodes - 41 and 42, one makes offset to the right, another to the left.
http://linuxcnc.org/docs/html/gcode/gco ... ec:G41-G42
In inkscape paths are usually oriented in the way that internal side of the path is always to the right of the path... But it can be changed by Path-Reverse, so it is better to be checked twice.
Ответить

Вернуться в «English forum»