Inkscape Gcodetools plug-in English support forum

cnc-club.ru for English speaking users

What function should we develope next?

Можно выбрать до 5 вариантов ответа

 
 
Результаты голосования

Аватара пользователя
Nick
Мастер
Сообщения: 22619
Зарегистрирован: 23 ноя 2009, 16:45
Репутация: 1630
Заслуга: Developer
Откуда: Gatchina, Saint-Petersburg distr., Russia
Контактная информация:

Inkscape Gcodetools plug-in English support forum

Сообщение Nick »

Generated Gcode in EMC2
Generated Gcode in EMC2
TypeExtension of vector
graphics editor Inkscape
DeveloperGcodetools develop team
Written inPython
OSCross-Platform (Windows, Linux, MacOS)
Version1.6.03
LicenseGNU GPL
Downloads7800+

Gcodetools

Gcodetools is a plug-in for Inkscape. It prepares and converts paths from Inkscape to Gcode, using biarc interpolation.
This article is unfinished. You can help cnc-club expanding it.
Screenshots and photos are needed. Please post them at this thread.
Features (для просмотра содержимого нажмите на ссылку)

Features

Preview of the generated Gcode in EMC
Preview of the generated Gcode in EMC
Gcodetools area pocketing
Gcodetools area pocketing
Gcodetools lathe
Gcodetools lathe
Gcodetools engraving by Rene
Gcodetools engraving by Rene
Bears by Durachko
Bears by Durachko
Export to Gcode
  • Export paths to Gcode
  • Using circular (biarc approximation) or straight line interpolation
  • Automatic path subdivision to reach defined tolerance
  • Multiply tool processing
  • Export Gcode in parametric of flat form
  • Including personal headers and footers
  • Choosing units
  • Multi-pass processing
  • Numeric suffix is added to generated files to avoid overwriting
Lathe Gcode
  • Compute trajectories for lathe
  • Fine cut
  • Define fine cut's depth
  • Define fine rounds
  • Two different computation functions for fine cut
  • Standard axis remapping

Path's area processing
  • Building area paths
  • Area paths could be modified
Engraving
  • Building trajectory according to the cutter's shape
  • Defining different cutter's shapes
Tool's library
  • Defining different tool's parameters (diameter, feed, depth step, penetration feed, personal Gcode before/after each path, cutters shape, personal tool's changing Gcode)
  • Tools can be managed by Inkscape's standard procedures (copy, delete, assigned to different layer)
  • Multiply tools processing
Orientation system
  • Applying scale along any axis
  • Apply rotate in the ХY plane
  • Apply translation along any axis
  • Apply transforms according to arbitrary points
Post-processor
  • You can create custom post-processor by writing down the commands or choose from the list of default post-processors
  • Scale and offset Gcode
  • Gcode commands remapping
  • Parameterize Gcode
  • Round floating point values to specified precision
Verifying tools for the scene
  • Select and remove small paths (area artefacts)
  • Tool's alignment check
  • Cutting order check
Plotter cutting
  • Export to Gcode for plotter with tangential knife. Forth axis A is knife's rotation.
Install (для просмотра содержимого нажмите на ссылку)

Install

Windows
Unpack and copy all the files to the following directory Program Files\Inkscape\share\extensions\ and restart inkscape
Linux
Unpack and copy all the files to the following directory /usr/share/inkscape/extensions/ and restart inkscape
Screenshots (для просмотра содержимого нажмите на ссылку)

Screenshots

Gcodetools plug-in tutorial (2600*1300 px png ~ 700Kb)
Gcodetools plug-in tutorial (2600*1300 px png ~ 700Kb)
Curve to Gcode result
Curve to Gcode result
Preview of the generated Gcode in EMC
Preview of the generated Gcode in EMC
Get latest version (для просмотра содержимого нажмите на ссылку)

Get latest versions

Latest stable version Gcodetools 1.7
gcodetools.tar.gz
Gcodetools 1.7
(75.25 КБ) 92747 скачиваний
Older versions(ver 1.5)
gcodetools-1.6.tar.gz
Gcodetools 1.6
(56.6 КБ) 11857 скачиваний
(ver 1.5)
gcodetools.tar.gz
Gcodetools 1.5
(21.32 КБ) 7843 скачивания
(ver 1.4)
gcodetools.tar.gz
(14.72 КБ) 22989 скачиваний
(ver 1.2)
extensions.tar.gz
(9.01 КБ) 7704 скачивания

Dev-version

You can try the newest development version by getting it from github repository https://github.com/cnc-club/gcodetools via web interface or using git clone git@github.com:cnc-club/gcodetools.git .
You'll need to run python create_inx.py to create inx files. After that install procedure is the same with the stable version.

Translations

Gcodetools is included into Inkscape v 0.49 so it will have native translations as other Inkscape's extensions. Until it is released you can use some self made translation packs:
Credits (для просмотра содержимого нажмите на ссылку)

Credits

Developers:
  • Nick Drobchenko (Nick)
  • Vladimir Kalyaev (Dormouse)
  • Henry Nicolas (Alfcnc)
  • Chris Lusby Taylor (ChrisInNewbury)
Translators:
  • John Brooker (greybeard from cnczone.com)
Develop (для просмотра содержимого нажмите на ссылку)

Develop

At the moment following features are being developed:
  • Plasma cutter extension
  • Turning lathe extension
  • Plotter extension
You can help us improve Gcodetools in several ways
  • Writing a report / bug report
  • Improve help and manuals
  • Publish G-codes / SVGs / other code
  • Publish photos / videos
  • Make a bug report
  • Help develop new features
  • Suggest a new feature
Tested on (для просмотра содержимого нажмите на ссылку)

Tested on

Linux
Ubuntu 9.10 14.04 + inkscape 0.48 (older Gcodetools versions also work with 0.46, 0.47)
Windows
Windows XP, Windows Vista, Windows 7 + inkscape 0.46, inkscape 0.47
MacOS
There are some reports on successful work on MacOs.
jayeshtapase
Новичок
Сообщения: 1
Зарегистрирован: 04 июл 2016, 18:46
Репутация: 0
Настоящее имя: Jayesh
Контактная информация:

Re: Inkscape Gcodetools plug-in English support forum

Сообщение jayeshtapase »

thank u if i get tool
soswow
Новичок
Сообщения: 1
Зарегистрирован: 13 авг 2016, 11:09
Репутация: 0
Настоящее имя: Sasha
Контактная информация:

Re: Inkscape Gcodetools plug-in English support forum

Сообщение soswow »

I am having a problem. Please see a screenshot. I am sure you will recognize a problem. Onfortunatly I don't know how to even query for this behaviour, so I couldn't search here. Sorry If this is reported not the first time.
This happens when I try to do path to gcode second time. I noticed that this happens after I modified initial design (and remove layer from previous gcode generation. Not sure if this is relevant, but I do some transformation to my design: I remove all the splines "Flatten Beziers" and then add more points to all those small lines.
Вложения
Screenshot 2016-08-13 17.50.39.png
woodstock
Новичок
Сообщения: 1
Зарегистрирован: 31 авг 2016, 15:37
Репутация: 0
Настоящее имя: JaN
Контактная информация:

Re: Inkscape Gcodetools plug-in English support forum

Сообщение woodstock »

Hi Nick and everybody,

I am playing around with inkscape, your gcodetools plugin and a mill to cut 2D profiles into wood.

When I processed filigrane structures I found that the total milling time for areas is often dramatically increased by the raise and pierce in process after every cnc - path. In commercially available products it is possible to fill areas with "single lines" to reduce this waste of time. To explain the challenge i attached an .svg file with different area filling approaches and possibilites to solve or improve it. It is not enough to connect all paths because there could be collisions, accordingly there has to be a more intelligent way how to connect a lot of pathes along one main path or sth like this. Maybe the solution is already implemented somewhere in inkscape or your tool but I couldn't find it.

Изображение
(One maybe simple implementation to increase processing speed - more in the .svg)

Does anybody have a good idea or a hint where I should look for a more efficient way to generate milling paths?

Best regards, Jan
Вложения
milling speed.svg
the lower improvements would increase the total milling time a lot.
(52.1 КБ) 1426 скачиваний
Michal_K
Новичок
Сообщения: 1
Зарегистрирован: 04 окт 2016, 07:50
Репутация: 0
Контактная информация:

Re: Inkscape Gcodetools plug-in English support forum

Сообщение Michal_K »

Hi everybody,

I'm new in using Inkscape and Gcode plugin and I'm trying to find an option to get max 3 decimal places instead of 6 - I'm working in wood with a CNC milling machine and I don't need such a accuracy, second thing: it's a good and simple way to reduce the end file size which can be critical if you have "limited" memory volume in your machine.
Can you please give me a tip..

Thanks in advance

Best regards

Michael
emyeuanhdy
Новичок
Сообщения: 1
Зарегистрирован: 04 окт 2016, 10:48
Репутация: 0
Настоящее имя: gege
Контактная информация:

Re: Inkscape Gcodetools plug-in English support forum

Сообщение emyeuanhdy »

adwefwf
mu34tant
Новичок
Сообщения: 3
Зарегистрирован: 31 окт 2016, 00:30
Репутация: 0
Настоящее имя: jeff dentinger
Контактная информация:

Re: Inkscape Gcodetools plug-in English support forum

Сообщение mu34tant »

Gcodetools cuts twice. The code goes thru all steps twice. Any suggestions?
mu34tant
Новичок
Сообщения: 3
Зарегистрирован: 31 окт 2016, 00:30
Репутация: 0
Настоящее имя: jeff dentinger
Контактная информация:

Re: Inkscape Gcodetools plug-in English support forum

Сообщение mu34tant »

i see from other post multiple pass has to do with tool depth
mu34tant
Новичок
Сообщения: 3
Зарегистрирован: 31 окт 2016, 00:30
Репутация: 0
Настоящее имя: jeff dentinger
Контактная информация:

Re: Inkscape Gcodetools plug-in English support forum

Сообщение mu34tant »

i need one pass 1.5mm tool depth
Аватара пользователя
karbonis
Новичок
Сообщения: 2
Зарегистрирован: 13 дек 2016, 21:15
Репутация: 0
Настоящее имя: mike
Контактная информация:

Re: Inkscape Gcodetools plug-in English support forum

Сообщение karbonis »

gcodetoolsEngraveProblem01.png
Engrave question:
How do I avoid the variable z cuts shown? They are either going in the opposite direction, or the maybe conical bit is entering too soon?

I have tried various combinations of path reversing and it still ends up spoiling the areas I want to be left uncut.

I am a printer (letterpress=Gutenberg printing techniques, popular until 1960 commercially) artist and trying to cut printing blocks out of wood, like a woodcut, a common fine-art printmaking technique.
Аватара пользователя
karbonis
Новичок
Сообщения: 2
Зарегистрирован: 13 дек 2016, 21:15
Репутация: 0
Настоящее имя: mike
Контактная информация:

Re: Inkscape Gcodetools plug-in English support forum

Сообщение karbonis »

Ok, I had openSCAM tools incorrectly configured. So everything works!

This is really a terrific thing you put together, thanks!
TimothyJr91
Новичок
Сообщения: 1
Зарегистрирован: 03 фев 2017, 09:10
Репутация: 0
Настоящее имя: Timothy Tarmon
Контактная информация:

Re: Inkscape Gcodetools plug-in English support forum

Сообщение TimothyJr91 »

Regarding the tangent knife tool.

Is there any way to enable a retract/lift action for the z axes if the angle between two points is greater than a certain degree. In my case 45 degrees would be a start so that I don't break my blades?
Аватара пользователя
brynn
Новичок
Сообщения: 4
Зарегистрирован: 23 окт 2015, 22:26
Репутация: 0
Настоящее имя: brynn
Откуда: http://www.inkscapecuttingdesign.com/smf/index.php
Контактная информация:

Re: Inkscape Gcodetools plug-in English support forum

Сообщение brynn »

Hello,
I'm trying to help someone use your Gcode tools extensions in Inkscape. We're both using version 0.92.1 and both on Windows. I'm on Windows 7 and they're on Windows XP.

We're using your tutorial which is attached PDF. We're confused about Step 6. Could you please explain the following?

"Go to Extensions -> Gcode tools ...
Fill in Tool diameter in the Preferences tab
Then go to Area tab, and fill in Area radius."

There seems to be something missing between "Gcode tools ..." and "Fill in Tool diameter...." Which dialog should we open?

I did find Area extension dialog which does have an Area tab. But there is no option or setting called "Area radius". There is "Area Width". But most people think of width being equivalent to diameter. And mathematically, diameter is twice the radius (radius times 2).

We can figure out the Area Radius ok, using your instructions (which come after the quote above). But do we multiply the radius by 2, and enter in Area Width? Or else, where do we enter the Area Radius?

What about filling in Tool Diameter? I find that the Area dialog does have a Preferences tab. But there is no option or setting called "Tool Diameter".

We already found the tool diameter, using Tools Library dialog > Cylinder. But we don't know where to put it.

Or maybe Area dialog is not where the Area Radius and Tool Diameter need to be entered? If not, where to put them?

Also, near the bottom of Step 6, it says to choose "Calculate Area curves" and click Apply. But I can't find anything about "Calculate Area curves" in Area dialog, or in any of the gcodetools extension dialogs. How can we complete Step 6?

Thank you very much :)
Вложения
Area processing tutorial.pdf
(677.77 КБ) 1179 скачиваний
Аватара пользователя
brynn
Новичок
Сообщения: 4
Зарегистрирован: 23 окт 2015, 22:26
Репутация: 0
Настоящее имя: brynn
Откуда: http://www.inkscapecuttingdesign.com/smf/index.php
Контактная информация:

Re: Inkscape Gcodetools plug-in English support forum

Сообщение brynn »

Hhm, this is very strange. I've never seen anything like this before! It must have something to do with the translation?

I was not able to log in here using my usual browser, which is Firefox. But I can log in with IE, and yesterday posted a message.

When I visited today, I was using Firefox, just to look and see if there was any reply yet. I saw a typo, so I opened IE and logged in so I can....well, it doesn't look like we can edit messages. But I was going to make another reply, to correct the error.

Here's the strange part. When I read the message using Firefox, I see a slightly different message than what I see when I use IE. Please see attached screenshots. I've highlighted the different text with yellow. When I look at the message with IE, it's the same message that I posted. But if I look at the message with Firefox, it's a different message.

So you can see that in one place in the Firefox message, there's an extra word - "not" which is a pretty important word! It says "I did not find...." instead of "I did find...."! And in another place, parts of the text is missing. I highlighted the extra text and the missing text in yellow.

Should I make a screenshot of the whole correct message, to make sure you can read the correct info? Or should I try re-posting the message?

Thanks

Edit - So it looks like we can edit a message soon after it's posted. But the next day must be too late. Anyway, even with this message that I just posted, it looks different in Firefox! Very, very strange!!
Вложения
browser-difference.png
Аватара пользователя
brynn
Новичок
Сообщения: 4
Зарегистрирован: 23 окт 2015, 22:26
Репутация: 0
Настоящее имя: brynn
Откуда: http://www.inkscapecuttingdesign.com/smf/index.php
Контактная информация:

Re: Inkscape Gcodetools plug-in English support forum

Сообщение brynn »

Well I have to admit, I didn't read closely other recent messages which have been posted here. Because this address is given as "support forum" in the Gcodetool extensions, and which I've referred countless Inkscape users here (from Inkscape forums and mailing list) I just assumed we could get support here. But it looks like requests for support over the last year or so, are not being answered anymore.

Would you please let us know where we can get support, if you aren't providing it here anymore? I can spread the word in all the Inkscape forums, mailing lists, and IRC.

I know a lot of people are grateful for the Gcodetools extensions which you've provided for Inkscape, and sometimes I wonder if you realize how popular they are? We get a lot of questions in Inkscape forums, which we can't answer. So it would be very helpful if you could refer us somewhere we can get help.

Thank you very much :D
simonm
Новичок
Сообщения: 2
Зарегистрирован: 03 май 2017, 03:17
Репутация: 0
Настоящее имя: simon merrett
Контактная информация:

Re: Inkscape Gcodetools plug-in English support forum

Сообщение simonm »

I just want to say thank you to Nick and the others for a wonderful tool set. I am very interested in the engrave feature and I'm trying to use it to cut holes of varying diameter to create a stipple effect art work. I have been able to produce gcode using the engrave tutorial but it doesn't use the varying width of the V cutter to make the different hole sizes by plunging to different Z heights. Instead, it plunges and then moves in a start pattern to expand the diameter.

I've attached a picture of the svg holes I'm trying to cut (only need to remove the surface and not go all the way through)
holes svg
holes svg
and a close up of the gcode path in my gcode simulator (green line)
hole gcode
hole gcode
.

Please could the developers or anyone else help / explain how I can ensure the hole width is controlled with different Z depths for a V bit, rather than the radial XY moves? This is making the file take much longer to execute than is necessary.

Thank you!
simonm
Новичок
Сообщения: 2
Зарегистрирован: 03 май 2017, 03:17
Репутация: 0
Настоящее имя: simon merrett
Контактная информация:

Re: Inkscape Gcodetools plug-in English support forum

Сообщение simonm »

Michal_K писал(а):I'm trying to find an option to get max 3 decimal places instead of 6 - I'm working in wood with a CNC milling machine and I don't need such a accuracy, second thing: it's a good and simple way to reduce the end file size which can be critical if you have "limited" memory volume in your machine.
Can you please give me a tip..
Yes, use a text editor like notepad++ (Windows) to open (in administrator mode so you can later save changes) the [highlight=]gcodetools.py[/highlight] file in your Inkscape extensions folder (e.g. C:\Program Files\Inkscape\share\extensions) and look for this section of code (use a Ctrl+f in notepad++ to search down the list for instances of "round" and you'll find it):
Screenshot (74).png
Now, change

Код: Выделить всё

x=round(x,4) #round to 4 decimals
to

Код: Выделить всё

x=round(x,3) #round to 3 decimals

I actually use 2 decimals here as I don't believe my machine has 0.01mm precision.
Repeat this for the following lines too:

Код: Выделить всё

y=round(y,4) #round to 4 decimals
w=round(w,4) #round to 4 decimals
Now save (this is why you needed to open the text editor in administrator mode).

If you want to edit the GUI pop-up, you can do this by changing "4" to "3" in the relevant parts of the file [highlight=]gcodetools_path_to_gcode.inx[/highlight] in the same Inkscape extension folder. Now, if Inkscape is already open, save your work and restart it. If not, just open your file in Inkscape.

Now, when you get to the point where you are in Path to Gcode window, from the gcodetools extension sub-menu, select Preferences tab
Screenshot (76).png
and click under the dropdown for Post-processor. You want to select the option which says Round all values to X digits (where X should be either 4 or 3, depending on whether you changed the .inx file).

Carry out the rest of your workflow as before and you should get reduced decimal places in your gcode .nc or .nce files.
nd1969
Новичок
Сообщения: 2
Зарегистрирован: 02 сен 2017, 13:27
Репутация: 0
Настоящее имя: Andrea
Контактная информация:

Re: Inkscape Gcodetools plug-in English support forum

Сообщение nd1969 »

Hi,
I am a total newbe to inkscape and gcodetools. I recently got a Lumipocket LT 3d printer that is capable of laser engraving.
The manual of the printer was suggesting to use Inkscape to draw engraving and then transform those to gcode for the printer using Gcodetools extensions.
I started trying to draw a very basic grid, 60x60mm with crossing lines in the middle (at 30mm).
I followed thoroughly the instructions about setting the right parameters to obtain the gcode.
Orientation points, 2 points mode, setting the Z depth at "-0.1".
Chosing a Tool, the Cylinder.
Changing the diameter to "0.1" in the Cylindrical cutter box.
Then Path to Gcode: biarc interpolation 1,0; max splitting depth 1; subp to subp; depth f d, sort paths.
In Options Scale along Z 1,0; Offset Z 0,0; seletc all paths;minimum arc 0,05.

But when it is transformed to gcode, the measures range from 0 to 16mm instead of 60mm.

This is just the starting part of the code:

%
(Header)
(Generated by gcodetools from Inkscape.)
(Using default header. To add your own header create file "header" in the output dir.)
M3
(Header end.)
G21 (All units in mm)

(Start cutting path id: rect815)
(Change tool to Cylindrical cutter)

G00 Z0.100000
G00 X0.069972 Y16.863359

G01 Z-0.100000 F100.0(Penetrate)
G01 X16.863361 Y16.863359 Z-0.100000 F400.000000
G01 X16.863361 Y0.069971 Z-0.100000
G01 X0.069972 Y0.069971 Z-0.100000
G01 X0.069972 Y16.863359 Z-0.100000
G00 Z0.100000

(End cutting path id: rect815)

What's wrong? where are my 60mm lines?
aleng
Новичок
Сообщения: 1
Зарегистрирован: 03 сен 2017, 19:12
Репутация: 0
Настоящее имя: Alen
Контактная информация:

Re: Inkscape Gcodetools plug-in English support forum

Сообщение aleng »

Hi guys.

I installed inkscape and gcodetools extension today for my laser engraver. I am a newbie.

Gcodetools extension doesn't work. I tried also jtech potonics laser extension. I get errors like this in entension-error text file.
Extension "DXF Input" failed to load because a dependency was not met.
Dependency:
type: executable
location: extensions
string: inkex.py

Extension "About" failed to load because a dependency was not met.
Dependency:
type: executable
location: extensions
string: inkex.py

Extension "Area" failed to load because a dependency was not met.
Dependency:
type: executable
location: extensions
string: inkex.py

Extension "Check for updates" failed to load because a dependency was not met.
Dependency:
type: executable
location: extensions
string: inkex.py

Extension "DXF Points" failed to load because a dependency was not met.
Dependency:
type: executable
location: extensions
string: inkex.py

Extension "Engraving" failed to load because a dependency was not met.
Dependency:
type: executable
location: extensions
string: inkex.py

Extension "Graffiti" failed to load because a dependency was not met.
Dependency:
type: executable
location: extensions
string: inkex.py

Extension "Lathe" failed to load because a dependency was not met.
Dependency:
type: executable
location: extensions
string: inkex.py

Extension "Orientation points" failed to load because a dependency was not met.
Dependency:
type: executable
location: extensions
string: inkex.py

Extension "Path to Gcode" failed to load because a dependency was not met.
Dependency:
type: executable
location: extensions
string: inkex.py

Extension "Prepare path for plasma" failed to load because a dependency was not met.
Dependency:
type: executable
location: extensions
string: inkex.py

Extension "Tools library" failed to load because a dependency was not met.
Dependency:
type: executable
location: extensions
string: inkex.py

Extension "J Tech Photonics Laser Tool" failed to load because a dependency was not met.
Dependency:
type: executable
location: extensions
string: inkex.py
What is the problem? I made some searches and found some links. But i don't know what to do.

https://forum.inkscapecommunity.com/ind ... opic=630.0
https://bugs.launchpad.net/inkscape/+bu ... omments/15

Could you help me please? Thanks!
nd1969
Новичок
Сообщения: 2
Зарегистрирован: 02 сен 2017, 13:27
Репутация: 0
Настоящее имя: Andrea
Контактная информация:

Re: Inkscape Gcodetools plug-in English support forum

Сообщение nd1969 »

.py
seems connected to something about Python.
Maybe you have not installed Python on your PC.
pyromiko
Новичок
Сообщения: 1
Зарегистрирован: 10 янв 2018, 03:32
Репутация: 0
Настоящее имя: Miguel Angel
Контактная информация:

Re: Inkscape Gcodetools plug-in English support forum

Сообщение pyromiko »

inkscape 0.92 has wrong dimensions with gcodetools . Y axis is always bigger. I cant not find anywhere a clear way to fix this.

Seems ok with 0.91 .
Ответить

Вернуться в «English forum»